I dreamt of snow

Living in a tropical country, I’ve never seen real snow before. I’ve also never visited places with it while they were experiencing winter.

The dream was surreal. I was strolling home with an old friend of mine. We were headed towards my grandmother’s house. The path was unfamiliar yet I recognized it. It was dark but everything around me was somehow illuminated clearly.

Suddenly to my right I saw a smokey haze. It was just a muddy field. But it was shrouded in twilight colors. I was intrigued. I took a step towards that direction. Wanting to explore further.

A hand on my arm stayed me.

“Don’t, it’s a grave yard,” my companion told me quietly.

“Really?! I never knew it was a cemetary, it sure didn’t look like one! There are no indications that it was! Are you sure?” I exclaimed.

As I stared at the haze, I realized that it was actually snow falling gently onto the ice hardened mud. I turned to my friend.

“It’s snow?! Can you believe it?! How’s that possible here… now?!”

We continued making our way forward. And we walked into an area where tiny snow flakes started falling around and on us in earnest. I was delighted. I could feel the tiny,feather- light drops melting against my skin. It’s hard to put to words, that moment in time. It was so real that I could’ve sworn that I wasn’t dreaming.

Our hair, faces, clothes all became covered with snow flakes. I laughed in delight.

“This is amazing! How can it snow in this place?” My friend muttered incredulously.

” I guess the impossible just happened, haha!” I replied smugly.

We then continued on to my grandmother’s house, light of mind and of heart.

When we reached our destination, grandma offered to cook us yaki soba for lunch. Don’t ask me why we were having lunch during dinner time. We somehow just were.

In real life my grandmother doesn’t know how to cook Japanese dishes. So it was yet another pleasant surprise! We sat down in the kitchen watching her bustle around. It was nice.

The dream faded out with us eating. I must have been hungry. Haha.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

